Pregnancy Disability and Paid Family Leave Information Session

On Friday I decided to get some in person information on Pregnancy Disability Leave and Paid Family Leave as these will be relevant to Matt and I in a few short months. These are both under the Employment and Development Department in California, so I mapped out the office closest to me to get answers from a professional.

It turns out the office I mapped out had been transformed into an EDD Job Workforce Center only. They gave me directions to the EDD Disability Insurance Office, which was luckily only a few miles away.

Upon finding the right building, I had to walk around to find this wall pointing me in the direction of the long ramp in for the accessibility of those in wheelchairs.

Just like the DMV, they had a take a number system. Unlike the DMV, having not made an appointment, I was seen very quickly, with my number being 149 and number 147 being called soon after I entered.

The lady at the counter politely asked how could help me. Her coworker, a man, looked at my stomach and said he knew what I was there for. I explained I wanted information on Preganancy Disability for myself and Paid Family Leave for Matt and possibly myself.

The forms are color coded to show they are diffenet, green for Disability (all kinds including pregnancy) and yellow for Paid Family Leave.

A lot of the information was a review and confirmation for me. I could with my doctor’s authorization take preganancy disability starting at week 36. We both hav to fill out forms in handwritten form.

I did not know that I had to wait till 8 days to file the paper and that it would be sent back to me if filed too early, instead of them holding onto it. It would take 2-3 weeks to process. After my pregnancy disability period was over (6 weeks after the birth, or 8 weeks for a Cesarean Section, I’d be send Paid Family Leave paperwork.

Paid Family Leave for Matt could be filled out online or mailed in and though he’d also have the waiting week, it could be processed faster if completed online. I found the visit very helpful and was glad to have answers verbally and in the written form instructions.

~ Danielle

Author: Over40FirstTimeMom.com

44 year old mother to our newborn son, William with my husband, Matt,. We live with our mischievous cat, Inky. I love sports (Go Giants! Go Sharks!), photography, the beach, WWE, reading and now spending lots of time as a family with one kid and one cat.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s